A Bit About Boxing

Posted: March 13, 2008 in Boxing

I’ve been a huge fan of boxing since the age of 12 when I began watching Sugar Ray Leonard and Mike Tyson destroy everyone they fought.  That said I’ve never enjoyed it as much as I do now.  I saw a really good fight last night on Showtime which featured England’s David Haye take on Enzo Maccarinelli.  I’ve seen Haye fight a couple of other times on TV and seen the outcomes of his other fights on YouTube.  I have been impressed with Haye’s performance each time I’ve seen him fight.  Last night was no exception.  For a bigger guy he’s got a lot of speed and he’s hungry.

David Haye..Watch Out Wladimir!Haye stated he’s moving from Cruiserweight to Heavyweight to take on all comers and he called out both Sam Peter and Wladimir Klitschko in the post fight interview.  He was very entertaining both in and out of the ring and I’m excited to see how he does in the Heavyweight division.  I’m a fan of all weight classes and am more interested in a weight classes talent than I am in how much these guys weight however the majority of my favorite fighters are always Heavyweights. 

I’ve been a huge Wladimir Klitschko fan, even through his three embarrassing losses.  After Wladimir Klitschko’s last fight against Sultan Ibragimov though I began to question Klitschko.  I consider Klitschko to be a much higher class of fighter than Ibragimov and when the fight went the distance I was really disappointed by both the lack of entertainment and Klitschko as well.  Klitschko is big, strong, and imposing and he reminds me and a lot of other people of Ivan Drago from Rocky IV.  In fact that’s what originally attracted me to Klitschko as he fights just like him, slow and methodical before tearing an opponent to shreds.  During this last fight however he fought as though he had something to fear from Ibragimov.  Even Emanuel Steward (his trainer) could be heard in the corner telling him to knock the guy out or it’ll “be bad”.  Klitscho doesn’t yet have his next fight planned, at least not publicly but I’m hoping he fights Sam Peter (who I do not like) and knocks his ass out.

I must break you!

I would then like to see David Haye get a shot at the champ regardless of whether it be Peter or Klitscho and I think it would make for an interesting night of boxing.  I can see Haye beating both of these gentlemen though I am fairly certain Klitscho would give him a much better fight.  I tend to become fans of boxers who are not just good fighters, but ones that have staying power, are interesting characters, have big knockout power, and ones that boast good fight records.  I like seeing speed and a lot of punches get traded in  my fights.  Though I’m continuing to stand being Klitscho he’s got to step things up, especially with Haye lurking in the shadows.  Haye brings all the things that people like about boxing to the ring and he could be the next big thing for not just the Heavyweight division but boxing as well.  If Haye and Klitscho do meet at some point down the line (hopefully not 3 years from now) I don’t know who I’d route for, though if the fight happened now I’d route for Klitscho.  I guess it all depends on what kind of performances both men turn out until that point.  At any rate…I think things are about to get a lot more interesting in the Heavyweight division.

Comments
  1. […] Scott Rocks David Haye quiere enfrentar a […]

  2. Aggie says:

    Hiya!. Thanks for the blog. I’ve been digging around for info, but there is so much out there. Yahoo lead me here – good for you i suppose! Keep up the good work. I will be coming back in a couple of days to see if there is updated posts.

Leave a Reply

