Finales For Great Shows

Posted: May 20, 2008 in TV Stuff
Tags: , , ,

After watching The Soprano’s smash cut to black during its series finale I immediately began to wonder how some of my favorite shows would end their run and just how many of their questions they would answer solidly and how many of their stories would be left for us to draw our own conclusions too.  I’ll admit that until I witnessed The Soprano’s finale I thought that my years of dedication to one of the greatest television shows ever was well deserved.  After the finale though I felt as though I had bought a series of books and that the final page of the final book ended abruptly with a “…….” and my first thought was “oh shit, please don’t let Lost do this to me”.

As a huge fan of heavily serialized dramas I often wonder just how they will end their runs and how the final scenes will play out.  What prompted this blog was a dream I actually had about six months ago.  I didn’t think to much of it until I told my wife all about the dream.  When she said “you need to blog about that” I thought what the hell and the dream I had actually makes sense.

Lost Finale
Ben Linus...one of the all time great villians

This dream was of Lost’s 2010 finale.   I don’t remember much of the dream though I do remember what I dreamt to be the final scene of season six.  So here’s what I dreamt and actually believe might happen in the finale.

After some action in the jungle the screen cuts to black and fades in showing a man washing his hands in a sink.  The camera never pans up and the scene continues to play out much like Desmond’s hatch scene did in the season 2 opener.  After a minute or two of watching these hands go about daily routines, an earthquakes hits and things start shaking violently.  This man then runs outside however we only see his legs and feet making for the front door.  Once outside you hear a bunch of concerned voices at which point the camera cuts back to this man and we see that its Ben.  Jack comes running into the scene from out of his hut in New Otherton and asks Locke and Ben what’s going on.  Locke then points up where we see another plane coming apart in mid air.  At this point we see Ben give orders to Locke, Jack, Sawyer, and Sayid, much as he did in the Season Three opener. Ben tells them along with some redshirts, “go go go, get to the beach, find out what you can.”  The rest of the main cast goes running off into the jungle while Locke and Jack go back into their homes to formulate a plan with Ben….smash cut to black, roll credits.  Essentially it was the season 3 opener replayed but with the Losties taking the place of the Others.  I can see this happening now as season 4 is coming to a close.  Time will tell…

The Tudors Finale
The Tudors - Henry VIII & Anne Boleyn

Though I haven’t had any revelations about The Tudors finale, it remains one of my favorite shows and I had a really good idea for a series ending scene that I think would work rather well.  As the show is concluding a woman’s voice is heard narrating some verbiage about Henry and the Tudor dynasty all the while we see several ladies in waiting looking towards the camera.  As the camera pans around it is revealed that it is Elizabeth Tudor (Elizabeth I) telling the entire story to her servants.  She then closes a book and the final shot is of her walking down a long corridor within her chambers.  To make this scene work the people responsible for The Tudors should do everything they can to get Helen Mirren to reprise her role as the Queen.  I believe this would be an effective ending as it would close out not just the story of the Henry’s reign but the Tudor Dynasty as well.

If you haven’t seen either one of these shows you owe it to yourself to check them out.  Both are serialized and well produced.  Though everyone knows Lost is on ABC not everyone knows that The Tudors airs on Showtime, Sunday nights.  Check them out now!  I’d also like to know how everyone thinks big shows will end their runs.  With Battlestar coming to a close, and Lost ending in a couple of years things are getting interesting.

Comments
  1. Damn babe you are soooo brilliant! I think the ending of the Tudors with Elizabeth talking would be sooooo awesome especially since Henry is such a bigot toward woman, little did he know that his precious daughter opps sorry i mean illegitimate child would be one of the best rulers in England! As for LOST that is a pretty crazy dream but also a great idea for a series finale i would be satified with that….

  2. Damn babe you are soooo brilliant! I think the ending of the Tudors with Elizabeth talking would be sooooo awesome especially since Henry is such a bigot toward woman, little did he know that his precious daughter opps sorry i mean illegitimate child would be one of the best rulers in England! As for LOST that is a pretty crazy dream but also a great idea for a series finale i would be satified with that….

Leave a Reply

