George Carlin: You Will Be Missed

Posted: June 23, 2008 in Misc Stuff
Tags:

George Carlin, one of the greatsIf you’re a fan of comedy then you may have heard that the great George Carlin died today at the age of 71.  I was a long time fan of George’s comedy and a fan of his politics and outlook on things.  I began listening to George Carlin when I was about 13 years old and he made a huge impression on me.  His comedy, approach to life, politics, and views on religion had a big influence on me growing up and he showed me just how important logic and critical thinking are in life all the while making me laugh the whole time.  I always found his comedy to be entertaining, eyeopening, honest, and even inspirational at times.

As we get older life begins taking things away from us that we love and often take for granted. Having been a Carlin fan for over twenty two years, his comedy was one of those things that had been around for so long I never really thought about him or it being gone. Though it may seem biased coming from a fan, Carlin was one of the best comedians of all time and was never afraid to speak his mind or the truth, even when it wasn’t popular to do so.  George Carlin was a hero of mine when I was growing up and I continued to admire both the man and the comedy as an adult.  No one can say he didn’t live long enough or have a full life, but damn, he is gone much too soon. Goodbye George and thank you for the laughs and wisdom, you will be sorely missed.

For those not familiar with his work see these links.

George talk about saving the planet

George Carlin talks religion.

George talks about voting and speaks the truth!

George talks about the absurdity of airline safety.

George speaks the truth about this country.

Leave a Reply

